You are here

Calling All Landcare Champions

Posted in: 
Community Engagement

Landcare award nominations are now open to recognise and celebrate the outstanding Landcare heroes from our Wheatbelt community leading sustainable agricultural practices, environmental protection, conservation of land, waterways and biodiversity.

There are nine national Landcare Award categories including new categories for - Climate Innovation - Women in Landcare - First Nations Landcare Collaboration - NextGen Nominating is straight forward enough and free. If you know an individual, group or organisation in our Wheatbelt community making a difference to our environment and sustainable land use, nominate them for a Landcare Award now. Don’t be shy, you can also nominate yourself or your own organisation, partnership, or group.

We encourage everyone to participate in this celebration of environmental stewardship by submitting nominations and joining us in recognising the remarkable achievements of the people involved in land care. So, who can be nominated?

  • Volunteers for Landcare other environmental community groups
  • Sustainable farmers, farming systems groups and primary producer groups
  • Agricultural co-operatives, industry associations
  • Traditional Owners, First Nations organisations and Indigenous land and sea Rangers
  • Landcare networks, groups and co-ordinators
  • Landholders and/or land managers
  • Urban Landcare groups including ‘Friends of’ and Bushcare groups
  • Coast care, River care, Dune care groups and individuals
  • Environmental community care groups
  • Natural resource management agencies
  • Local government
  • NGOs
  • Research agencies and academics
  • Junior Landcare (early learning centres, day care centres, primary and secondary schools, Scouts, and Girls Guides)

Youth groups and individuals. Award categories include:

  • Australian Government Climate Innovation Award
  • Australian Government Sustainable Agriculture Landcare Award
  • Australian Government Individual Landcarer Award
  • Australian Government Community Partnerships Landcare Award
  • Coastcare Award
  • First Nations Landcare Collaboration Award
  • Women in Landcare Award
  • Woolworths Junior Landcare Award
  • NextGen

Landcare Award Nominations close on March 1, 2024 To get started straight away click here: To learn more here: